How to Stop GPS Data in Photos from Revealing Where You Live

Did you know that GPS tracking data can be recorded when someone takes a picture of you? Browser plug-ins and certain software programs can reveal the geotag location information of your photos and movies to anyone who wants to see it. Location information (GPS tracking system coordinates) stored inside photos can reveal your home address, work address, places you visit often, etc.  Geotags can make it very easy for people – friends, family, bosses, spouses, parents – to find out exactly where you are.
Here’s How to Protect Your Privacy:

Modern cameras can track information such as where and when a photo of you was taken and on what type of camera.  It is important to make sure that your camera is not revealing more information than you would like. Also be aware when photos of you are uploaded to websites where the public may see such as Facebook, Twitter, Ebay, Craigslist.

For example, you don’t want to advertise something expensive for sale on Ebay and then give away where the item is located (your home).  Or another example, there was a story about this  in the New York Times a while back about the host of the TV show MythBusters, Adam Savage. Savage posted a picture of his Toyota Land Cruiser on Twitter. The vehicle was parked in front of his house. But what he didn’t realize was that by doing this, he let his fans know much more than he was expecting – he actually revealed exactly where he lived.   Embedded in the image was a geotag, a bit of GPS tracking[3] data that provides the longitude and latitude of where the photo was taken.

The same thing can happen to any of us because geo-tags are invisible to the naked eye.   Geo-tags are part of the meta-data, or underlying data about the data, that accompanies each file. The problem occurs when you or someone you may know are geo-tagging your photos and then uploading them to the internet – especially social media sites like Facebook or Twitter.  When social media users take a picture or video and upload it to their page, they are probably transmitting far more data than they think.

1 2 3

Share